Where Am I?

I’ve become frustrated — perhaps jaded — with CSS and needed a good break from it. Maybe it’s burnout. Trying to keep things compatible cross-browser is just incredibly frustrating.

IE7 is really starting to piss me off. I hate the UI. Something so simple and basic and they had to go and screw it up. Then there’s the CSS system. They’re on beta 3 now and they still don’t have it right. It’s certainly better than IE6 in many ways.. but the ways that it breaks destroy a lot of my work at doing more advanced things like the drop-down menu. Layouts that work in every other browser are now breaking in IE7. I wish I could find one IE developer, grab them, and show just how broken their CSS is.

It’s frustrating. And every time I look at CSS I’m reminded of this and these negative feelings and it just destroys any existing motivation to work with CSS.

3 thoughts on “Where Am I?

  1. No!!!! Don’t get frustrated Ruthsarian! The mere idea of losing such a talented developer like yourself because the frustrations with cross browser compatibility would be awful. You are the best when it comes to cross browser compatibility and its your work that makes me want to be the best so I can make my sites look consistent in all major browsers. In fact thats one of my best traits. I got you to be thankful for that. Your work is always appreciated and I hope you continue on the menu and other new CSS layouts. I currently use a modified version of your Visual Consistencies on all the sites I’ve worked on. I do hope you continue with your menu again soon. It’s a learning opportunity for all of us out here! Thanks again.

  2. Please don’t give up. For the love of all that is good in this world. I am a fledgling webmaster, and do not know what I would do without your work. Thanks for all your research. I guarantee that for every person like me that takes the time to email you, there are a thousand who appreciate your efforts, have improved their sites based on your debugging, but are just too lazy to tell you how much of a lifesaver you were. Unquestionably, you are the man. Peace, brother.

Leave a Reply

