Nvu

This shows how “in touch” I am. This gem of free software totally slipped under my radar.

Nvu is a WYSIWYG(ish) web site editor, very similar to Dreamweaver. Nvu is released under “the MPL/LGPL/GPL tri-license” which means you can download, muck with it, distribute it, all for free.

What’s really nice is the underlying rendering engine is based on Mozilla Composer. So the rendering of the page is rock solid.

I’ve received a ton of e-mails in the past about how the Skidoo layouts break in Dreamweaver. Well they don’t break in Nvu.

The only thing I’ve found in my testing thus far is my half-finished drop-down menus don’t render in Nvu the way they do in FireFox. But when compared to any other editor out there (DW/FP) Nvu blows them all away.

So check this out. Use it. Love it. Force all your friends and enemies to use it.

But seriously, go download Nvu and give it a try.

4 thoughts on “Nvu

  1. I’m a fan of your blog & design layouts :-)
    When I create CSS web pages in Dreamweaver MX I usually us your “CSS1” and “_theme” CSS stylesheets. I haven’t used your “_v4” because I thought I could achieve the desired look with the 1st two style sheets. I check my pages in FireFox 1.0.6 & Opera 8.5. My web pages usually look good in those.

    Tonight I looked at a site in MSIE 6 and thought “ewww, how did that happen?” Perhaps I should use all 3 of your stylesheets? Any advice as to how to look consistently good in all browsers? Please comment in your blog or e-mail me. Thanks!
    ~Rhianna

  2. Good question. I definitely recommend using all stylesheets that Ruthsarian provides in his Skidoo layouts. They are built to be launched right away and have tested them myself in all browsers v5+ on Windows and they appear perfectly. What I do is test every single change I make that I feel might cause a difference in some browsers. This way I can find a problem beforehand rather then later. Also I highly suggest, in fact I demand that you use his Visual Consistencies CSS on every project you start. I have built mine own from his and have found it to force several consistencies across all browsers.

  3. Thanks for the comments, Javier. I can see that Ruthsarian’s Visual Consistencies CSS can be a big help.
    http://webhost.bridgew.edu/etribou/layouts/utility_css/visual_consistencies.css

    I’m not sure how it happened, but the pages of mine that have been based upon Ruthsarian’s Skidoo layouts only used the first two of the three style sheets. I need to backtrack to see how all three work together (that’s not always easy).
    What makes things tricky is that some people still use Microsoft Internet Explorer as their main browser and others use browsers I haven’t even tested. Things were easier in the mid-90s when everyone used the same browser.

    I’d like to thank Ruthsarian. His layouts are great and his web pages and blog are exciting. I started out looking at “glish.com : CSS layout techniques,” and although glish.com is a good resource, Ruthsarian’s site is a lot more fun to look through & more motivational (at least I think so).

  4. Thanks to Ruthsarian for the layouts. I have been ‘studying’ CSS for a long time but have yet to learn more than the basics. It’s thanks to people like R who produce good quality layouts like Skidoo Too, as well as the resources to back them up (such as the Visual Consistencies CSS and the JS utilities).

    As a personal project I am going to try to integrate the font-size tool, the stylesheet switcher and the drop-down menus found in Tank! into Skidoo Too: Gargoyles. I doubt it will be perfect but you don’t know until you try.

    Thanks, and keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

