What's New w/Skidoo

Did a bit of an update to the skidoo layout. I was getting tired of updating two sets of CSS when I had to update something for the skidoo layout. And to convert the 3 column layout to a 2 column layout takes all of 2 or 3 lines of CSS. So I moved everything into the same folder so both the 2 and 3 column layouts pull their CSS from the same source. And I added a couple new stylesheets to show how it can be done.

I’ve also added in a lot of new demos. I plan to keep adding to the demo list with different color themes and some other bits as time moves on.

Right now I’ve got a problem with the layout in IE. It seems that if you shrink the width of the window too much, the right-hand column gets kicked below the content column. I want to do some tests to see if I can find a fix for that. If anyone has any suggestions, I’d love to hear from you.

On the server side of things I’ve started playing with snort. I’ve got a database setup that receives alerts from snort and then acid parses the logs and generates some stats and graphs that I can use to easily monitor traffic hitting our network.

Well, at least port 80 traffic. This server is behind a couple firewalls and I don’t have any remote sensors outside of the firewall. So it’s pretty much just port 80 traffic that I see. But it’s always good to see just what kind of attacks are hitting our web servers. It’s nothing big, mostly old-school unicode exploits with a dash of other misc. IIS exploits thrown in. It’s still interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

